ASTU-EDCF Project

Adama Science and Technology (ASTU) is one of the two public Science and Technology Unive rsity dedicated for the Science and Technology development. The government of Ethiopia etabilished eight centers of excellence (CoEs) at ASTU to lead the development of science and technology of the nation through applied research. The CoEs would play great roles in transfering appropriate and up-to-date technologies and provid training to produce qualified and ethical workforce necessary for the development of science and technology that will transform the agriculture lead economy to industrial lead economy and to become one of the middle income countries by 2025.

To this end, ASTU is building the necessary research infrastructure for the identified eight centers of excellence and to build the capacity of research personnel. For this, the government of Ethiopia made an agreement with the government of South Koreea through the Economic Development Cooperation Fund (EDCF) to develop the research infrastructure for selected five CoEs. The EDCF is to establish, build the research infrastructure and capacity building of the research staff of ASTU. The five selected CoEs are

- 1. Advanced Manufacturing Engineering (CAME),
- 2. Transport and Vehicle Engineering (CTVE),
- 3. Material Science and Engineering (CMSE),
- 4. Electrical System and Electronics (CESE) and
- 5. Institute of Pharmaceutical Science (IPS)